ANC Top-6 for UNITY, Ramaphosa elected as President

ANC President Cyril Ramaphosa
ANC President Cyril Ramaphosa

Deputy President Cyril Ramaphosa has been elected as the President for the ruling party African National Congress (ANC) to succeed President Jacob Zuma who announced almost a year ago that he will be stepping down at the end of his second term.

The ANC is currently holding its 54th national conference at Nasrec, Johannesburg. The new ANC Top-6 leadership has been elected with all positions fully contested.

Ramaphosa received 2440 votes to narrowly defeat the former chairperson of the African Union (AU), Nkosasana Dlamini-Zuma for the much contested top ANC position.

The Electoral Commision announced three new-comers to the ANC Top-6 with Ramaphosa, Jessie Duarte and Gwede Mantashe retaining positions.

Gauteng ANC Chairperson defeated the current minister of foreign Affairs Maite Nkoana Mashabane for the Treasury General position by a wider margin.

Mpumalanga Premier David Mabuza was voted as the party Deputy President. Free State Premier Ace Makgashule marginally defeated the former KZN Premier Senzo Mchunu for the party’s General Secretary position by 26-votes.

Full ANC Top-6

  1. President: Cyril Ramaphosa
  2. Deputy President: David Mabuza
  3. National Chairperson: David Mabuza
  4. General Secretary: Ace Makgashule
  5. Deputy General Secretary: Jessie Duarte
  6. Treasury General: Paul Mashatile





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here