Nqaba Bhanga elected as the new DA Leader in Eastern Cape

Nelson Mandela Bay mayoral committee member Nqaba Bhanga has been elected as Eastern Cape Leader of the Democratic Alliance(DA), at today’s Provincial Congress in East London.

Nqaba Bhanga elected as the new DA Eastern Cape leader

It was a tight contest between Nqaba Bhanga and DA’s outgoing chairperson Veliswa Mvenya, Bhanga emerged victorious by a majority of votes.

The Newly elected DA Eastern Cape leader Nqaba Bhanga joined the party in 2014 from the Congress of the People (COPE).

Bhanga is replacing the renowned DA leader Athol Trollip – who’s headed the party in that province for the last 15 years.

The full complement of newly-elected DA Eastern Cape leadership is:

  • Provincial Leader: Nqaba Bhanga
  • 2 Deputy Provincial Leaders: Bobby Stevenson and Terence Fritz
  • Provincial Chairperson: Andrew Whitfield
  • 3 Deputy Provincial Chairpersons: Yusuf Cassim, Kobus Botha and Marshall Von Buchenroder



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *